Comparison

Profound alternative: what to use instead, and when to stay

The best Profound alternative depends on why you are looking: price, setup or scope. On 30 September 2026, Profound published no price — only a 7-day free trial and a custom Enterprise plan — while Otterly.ai, HubSpot AEO and SE Visible list self-serve plans from $29 to $99 a month. If you need one reading rather than a tracker, a free report may be enough.

What Profound offers today

Profound sits at the enterprise end of the AI visibility tools market. Its pricing page, read on 30 September 2026, lists only two options: a self-serve free trial and a custom Enterprise plan.

  • Trial: free, self-serve, 7 days. 50 prompts run daily on 3 engines — ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews — in 1 language and 1 region, with no history retention and no API.
  • Enterprise: custom pricing via a demo request. 9 engines — ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, DeepSeek, Claude, Google AI Overviews and Exa Search — plus custom languages and regions, raw export in CSV and JSON, all-time history and an API.

Some comparison articles still quote monthly Profound plans. The pricing page showed no such plans on 30 September 2026, so treat any other Profound price as unconfirmed until you see it there or in a quote.

Why teams look for a Profound alternative

People usually look for a Profound alternative for one of four reasons.

  • No list price. You need a sales conversation before you know whether it fits the budget.
  • A short, narrow trial. Seven days on three engines in one region shows you the product. It does not show you a trend.
  • More than they need. A brand tracking only itself may never use 9 engines, custom regions and an API.
  • They want an answer first. Some teams just want to know whether AI names them at all before they buy any tracker.

When Profound is the better choice

Profound is hard to replace if your needs match its Enterprise plan. Stay with it, or start there, when:

  • You need Exa Search, which none of the other tools here names, or 9 engines under one contract.
  • You track several languages and regions and want them set up for you.
  • You need raw exports in CSV and JSON, an API and all-time history for your own analysis.
  • Your company buys software through procurement anyway, so a custom contract is normal.

If that list describes you, a cheaper tool may cost you more time than it saves. A trial of Profound next to one alternative will show the difference faster than any table.

Profound alternatives, grouped by need

The table below groups the alternatives by what kind of product they are. Budget trackers are standalone and self-serve. Tools from SEO suite vendors add AI tracking to a plan you may already pay for, or sell it as a standalone product. Mid-market and enterprise platforms cover more engines per plan, and some, like Goodie, add optimization agents.

Two names from other lists need a note. Peec AI is often recommended; its pricing page lists Starter, Pro, Advanced and Enterprise plans, but prices and limits were not readable there (rendered in JavaScript), so check them on the page. Hall's homepage says it is now part of Tracksuit, dated 21 July 2026, and offers a waitlist instead of plans.

Compare like with like

Prices are only comparable once the units are. Vendors count different things.

  • Prompts: Otterly.ai, Semrush and SE Visible sell a number of prompts. SE Visible notes that its limit counts the prompts you add, not the checks it runs.
  • Checks: at Ahrefs, one check is one prompt, on one platform, in one location. ZipTie charges $0.01 per prompt check per engine.
  • Credits: Rankscale typically uses 0.25 credits per engine per prompt. AthenaHQ also sells credits.
  • Cadence: Semrush tracks prompts daily; LLMrefs sends weekly reports.

The metrics differ too. One tool's visibility score is not the same number as another's. Before you compare, read what each metric counts — the AI visibility guide explains mention rate, recommendation rate, average position and citation rate.

Where Llamat fits

Llamat is not a daily tracker, so it is not a like-for-like Profound alternative. It is a free, one-off LLM Visibility Report. You enter a website, review up to 20 suggested questions, and we run them on ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity. The report arrives by e-mail within a few minutes, and you don't need an account.

It shows mention rate, recommendation rate, average position, citation rate, an AI Visibility score and the competitors named instead of you. Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Claude and Microsoft Copilot can be added as paid add-ons. Any public website works, including a competitor's.

Use it for a first reading before you commit to a tracker: the free AI visibility checker takes a website and an e-mail address. If you later want the same report over time — monthly reports, more brands or more engines — there is a custom solution on request at info@llamat.com.

Llamat is our product. We list it as a free one-off report, not as a replacement for a daily tracker.

Comparison

Profound alternatives compared

Entry paid plan as listed, in the currency shown. Where a vendor does not state something, the cell says so.

Profound alternatives compared
ToolAI enginesEntry pricePrompt limitsFree option
The tool you are replacing
ProfoundTrial and Enterprise onlyTrial: ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews. Enterprise: 9 enginesNo published price50 prompts daily on the trial7-day free trial
Free one-off report
LlamatOne-off report · custom monitoring on requestChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity included; Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, Claude, Copilot as paid add-onsFree report; add-ons on requestUp to 20 questions per reportFree, no account
Budget trackers
Otterly.ai50+ countries on every planChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot; AI Mode, Gemini, Claude as add-ons$29/mo Lite15 / 100 / 400 promptsNot stated publicly
RankscaleCredits, not promptsChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, DeepSeek, Mistral, Grok, Copilot and more$17/mo Essentials (yearly only); Pro $99/mo1,200 / 3,000 / 5,500 / 12,000 credits a month7-day free trial of Pro
ZipTieUsage-based7: ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, AI Mode, Copilot, Bing AI Overview, GeminiStarter preset from $42.75/moPrompt slots you buy; $0.01 per check per engine7-day free trial, 25 daily prompts
LLMrefs50+ countries, 20+ languages11 listed, incl. ChatGPT, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Copilot$79/mo All in One (“Limited time only”)500 prompts, weekly reports7-day free trial
HubSpot AEONo HubSpot subscription requiredChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity$50/mo ($45/mo annually)25 prompts included; more can be boughtFree trial with 25 prompts, no card
From SEO suite vendors
SemrushSEO + AI Search plansGoogle Search, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini & more$199/mo Starter50 / 100 / 200 prompts tracked dailyNot stated publicly
SE VisibleStandalone tracker by SE RankingChatGPT, Gemini, AI Mode, Perplexity, AI Overview$99/mo Basic ($79/mo annually)200 / 450 / 1,000 prompts10-day free trial
Ahrefs Brand RadarNo Ahrefs subscription requiredAI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot; Claude on Custom PromptsCustom Prompts from $50/mo; AI Visibility Index $199/moCustom Prompts packages: 2,500 / 7,000 / 25,000 checksNo free trial; Ahrefs Free account
Mid-market and enterprise
ScrunchCountries not stated7: ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Meta AI$250/mo Starter annually ($300 monthly)350 / 700 custom promptsNot stated publicly
AthenaHQSingle region on Starter5 on the free plan; 11 models on Starter$295/mo Starter300 credits free; 3,600 credits/mo on StarterFree Essential plan ($25 credit)
Goodie2 countries, 2 languages on Core5 on Core, 8 on Pro, up to 13 on Enterprise$399/mo Core annually ($478.80 monthly)120 / 250 / 500+ prompts7-day free trial (Core)

Prices and limits change often. Check the vendor's page before you buy.

Read from public pricing pages on 30 September 2026.

Sources: Profound, Otterly.ai, Rankscale, ZipTie, LLMrefs, HubSpot AEO, Semrush, SE Visible, Ahrefs Brand Radar, Ahrefs pricing, Scrunch, AthenaHQ, Goodie

How to choose

How to choose a Profound alternative

Start from the job you need done, not from the feature list.

You need a first reading
Run a free AI visibility report before you buy anything. One report shows whether AI names you, recommends you and who it picks instead.
You need a tracker on a small budget
Otterly.ai, Rankscale, ZipTie, LLMrefs and HubSpot AEO list entry plans under $100 a month. Check which engines are included, which cost extra and how often prompts are re-run.
You already use an SEO suite
Look at Semrush, SE Ranking or Ahrefs first. AI tracking there is part of a plan or sold next to it, and your keyword data sits in the same place.
You need many engines, countries or seats
Scrunch covers 7 engines on every plan, AthenaHQ lists 11 models on Starter and Goodie up to 13 on Enterprise. Compare region limits too: AthenaHQ Starter is single-region, and Goodie Core covers 2 countries.
You need content help, not only tracking
Some tools add writing or optimization features on top of tracking. See AEO tools for tools grouped by job.
You care about one Google surface
If Google AI Overviews is what matters, a rank tracker with AI features may be enough. See the AI Overviews tracker comparison.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

What is the best Profound alternative?

It depends on why you are leaving. For ongoing tracking on a small budget, look at self-serve trackers such as Otterly.ai, Rankscale or HubSpot AEO. If you already use Semrush, SE Ranking or Ahrefs, start with their AI features. For a first reading before you buy anything, a free one-off report is enough.

How much does Profound cost?

Profound did not publish a price on 30 September 2026. Its pricing page listed a free 7-day trial and an Enterprise plan with custom pricing through a demo request.

Does Profound have a free trial?

Yes. The trial is free and self-serve for 7 days. It runs 50 prompts a day on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, in one language and one region, without history retention or API access.

Is there a free alternative to Profound?

There are free options with small limits. AthenaHQ has a free Essential plan with a $25 credit, and HubSpot offers a free one-time AI Search Grader. Llamat's LLM Visibility Report is free for up to 20 questions on ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity.

Which Profound alternative covers the most AI engines?

Among the tools compared here, Goodie lists up to 13 models on Enterprise, AthenaHQ lists 11 models on Starter and LLMrefs lists 11 engines on its single plan. Profound's Enterprise plan covers 9.

Can Llamat replace Profound?

Not for daily tracking. Llamat is a free one-off report on ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity, with four more engines as paid add-ons. For repeated monitoring there is a custom solution on request through info@llamat.com.

Find out what AI says about your brand.

Find out where you appear, who gets recommended instead and where you're missing.

No account required.